# ANNUAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS KAUA'I ISLAND UTILITY COOPERATIVE

Held via Conference Call On March 24, 2020

## **MINUTES**

Chairman Smith called the meeting to order at 12:32 p.m.

#### 1. Roll Call

- 1.1. **Directors present via Conference Call:** Directors Allan Smith (Chair), Jan TenBruggencate (Vice Chair,), Dee Crowell, David Iha, Janet Kass, James Mayfield, Calvin Murashige (Secretary), Teofilo Tacbian, and Peter Yukimura (Treasurer); and David Bissell (President and CEO). A quorum of directors were present.
- 1.2. Others present via Conference Call: Laurel Loo (General Counsel), Karissa Jonas (CFO), Maile Alfiler (Member Services Mgr.), Rick Eckert (Financial Planning & Regulatory Affairs), Carey Koide (Executive Mgr. Safety & Technology), Brad Rockwell (Executive Mgr., Operations.), Beth Tokioka (Communications Mgr.), Lisa Ubay (HR Mgr.), and Nadine Tipps (Executive Administrator); Members of the press (0) and Members of the public (0)
- 2. **Approval of Agenda.** The agenda was approved as circulated.
- 3. **Public Testimony.** None.
- 4. **Swearing in of new Directors.** At 12:34 p.m. Judge and General Counsel Laurel Loo administered the oath of office to the newly elected directors Dee Crowell, Jim Mayfield and Allan Smith.
- 5. **Executive Session.** None.
- 6. Organizational Items.

#### Election of Officers:

- Nominations for officers were presented and approved as follows:
  - Director Smith for Chair. [Motion: TenBruggencate/Murashige]
  - ➤ Director TenBruggencate for Vice Chair. [Motion: Murashige/Crowell]
  - ➤ Director Murashige for Secretary. [Motion: TenBruggencate/Crowell]
  - ➤ Director Tacbian for 1<sup>st</sup> Assistant Secretary. [Motion: Crowell/TenBruggencate]
  - Director Crowell for 2<sup>nd</sup> Assistant Secretary. [Motion: TenBruggencate/ Murashige]
  - ➤ Director Tha for 3<sup>rd</sup> Assistant Secretary. [Motion: TenBruggencate/Kass]
  - ➤ Director Yukimura for Treasurer. [Motion: TenBruggencate/Kass]
  - ➤ Director Mayfield for 1<sup>st</sup> Assistant Treasurer. [Motion: Kass/Crowell]
  - ➤ Director Kass for 2<sup>nd</sup> Assistant Treasurer. [Motion: Murashige/TenBruggencate]

• Director TenBruggencate made a motion to accept the slate of officers as presented. Director Murashige seconded the nomination, which carried unanimously.

### **Committee Appointments:**

- The following Committee Chair and member appointments were approved as follows:
  - > Executive
    - ♦ Chair Jan TenBruggencate
    - ♦ Members Calvin Murashige, Peter Yukimura, Allan Smith and CEO Bissell
  - Finance & Audit (F&A):
    - ♦ Chair Peter Yukimura
    - ♦ Members Jim Mayfield, Janet Kass, Calvin Murashige, Allan Smith and CFO Jonas
  - ➤ Government Relations & Legislative Affairs (GRLA):
    - ♦ Chair Phil Tacbian
    - ♦ Members Jan TenBruggencate, Peter Yukimura, David Iha and CEO Bissell (and Designees)
  - ➤ International:
    - ♦ Chair David Iha
    - Members Allan Smith, Peter Yukimura, Dee Crowell and Phil Tacbian
  - ➤ Member Relations:
    - ♦ Chair Dee Crowell
    - ♦ Members Cal Murashige, Allan Smith, Phil Tacbian and CEO Bissell (or Designees)
  - ➤ Policy:
    - ♦ Chair Janet Kass
    - Members Phil Tacbian, Jan TenBruggencate, Cal Murashige, Dee Crowell and General Counsel Laurel Loo
  - > Strategic Planning
    - ♦ Chair Jim Mayfield
    - ♦ Members David Iha, Janet Kass, Dee Crowell, Allan Smith and David Bissell (or Designee)
- A motion to approve the slate of committee appointments as noted above (with the inclusion of Phil Tacbian in the Member Services Committee) carried unanimously. [Motion: TenBruggencate/Murashige]
- There was a request to post the slate of officers and the slate of committee appointments on Call to Order and the website.
- 7. **Adjournment.** Whereupon, there being no further business the meeting was adjourned at 12:53 p.m. by unanimous consent

Respectfully submitted,

Cal Muraship

Calvin Murashige Secretary