# ANNUAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS KAUA'I ISLAND UTILITY COOPERATIVE

Held via Conference Call On March 18, 2021

# **MINUTES**

Chairman Smith called the meeting to order at 1:06 p.m.

### 1. Roll Call

- 1.1. **Directors present via Conference Call:** Directors Allan Smith (Chair), Jan TenBruggencate (Vice Chair,), Dee Crowell, David Iha, Janet Kass, James Mayfield, Calvin Murashige (Secretary), Teofilo Tacbian, and Peter Yukimura (Treasurer); and David Bissell (President and CEO). A quorum of directors were present.
- 1.2. Others present via Conference Call: Laurel Loo (General Counsel), Karissa Jonas (CFO), Maile Alfiler (Member Services Mgr.), John Cox (T&D Mgr.), Cameron Kruse (Engineering and Technology Mgr.), Beth Tokioka (Communications Mgr.), Lisa Ubay (HR Mgr.), and Nadine Tipps (Executive Administrator); Members of the press (0) and Members of the public (0).
- 2. **Approval of Agenda.** The agenda was approved as circulated.
- 3. **Public Testimony.** None.
- 4. **Swearing in of new Directors.** At 1:08 p.m. Judge and General Counsel Laurel Loo administered the oath of office to the newly elected directors David Iha, Janet Kass and Phil Tacbian.
- 5. Executive Session. None.
- 6. Organizational Items.

#### Election of Officers:

- Nominations for officers were presented by Director Kass, with a second by Director Mayfield, and approved as follows:
  - > Director Smith for Chair. [Motion: Kass/Mayfield]
  - ➤ Director TenBruggencate for Vice Chair. [Motion: Kass/ Mayfield]
  - Director Murashige for Secretary. [Motion: Kass/ Mayfield]
  - ➤ Director Tacbian for 1<sup>st</sup> Assistant Secretary. [Motion: Kass/ Mayfield]
  - ➤ Director Crowell for 2<sup>nd</sup> Assistant Secretary. [Motion: Kass/ Mayfield]
  - Director Yukimura for Treasurer. [Motion: Kass/ Mayfield]
  - ➤ Director Mayfield for 1<sup>st</sup> Assistant Treasurer. [Motion: Kass/ Mayfield]
  - ➤ Director Kass for 2<sup>nd</sup> Assistant Treasurer. [Motion: Kass/ Mayfield]
- Director Iha moved for the nomination of officers to be closed. Director Murashige seconded the nomination, which carried unanimously.

# **Committee Appointments:**

- The following Committee Chair and member appointments were approved as follows:
  - > Executive
    - ♦ Chair Jan TenBruggencate
    - ♦ Members Calvin Murashige, Allan Smith, Peter Yukimura and CEO Bissell
  - Finance & Audit (F&A):
    - ♦ Chair Peter Yukimura
    - ♦ Members Janet Kass, Jim Mayfield, Calvin Murashige, Allan Smith and CFO Jonas
  - ➤ Government Relations & Legislative Affairs (GRLA):
    - ♦ Chair Phil Tacbian
    - Members David Iha, Jan TenBruggencate, Peter Yukimura, CEO Bissell and Beth Tokioka
  - > International:
    - ♦ Chair David Iha
    - Members Dee Crowell, Allan Smith, Phil Tacbian and Peter Yukimura
  - ➤ Member Relations:
    - ♦ Chair Dee Crowell
    - ♦ Members Cal Murashige, Allan Smith, Phil Tacbian, Maile Alfiler and Beth Tokioka
  - Policy:
    - ♦ Chair Janet Kass
    - ♦ Members Dee Crowell, Cal Murashige, Phil Tacbian, Jan TenBruggencate and General Counsel Laurel Loo
  - > Strategic Planning
    - ♦ Chair Jim Mayfield
    - ♦ Members Dee Crowell, David Iha, Janet Kass, Allan Smith, David Bissell and Brad Rockwell
  - ➤ 2021 Nominating
    - ♦ Chair Dee Crowell
- 7. **Adjournment.** Whereupon, there being no further business the meeting was adjourned at 1:18 p.m. by unanimous consent

Respectfully submitted,

Calvin Murashige

Secretary